Press ESC to close

New visa rule for travelers from India, Saudi, Oman, Bahrain.

The European Union has introduced new visa rules for travelers from India, Saudi Arabia, Oman, and Bahrain who wish to visit any of the Schengen member countries.

These new visa rule may include changes in the visa application process, required documents, and fees. Travelers need to review the updated guidelines before planning their trip to ensure compliance with the new regulations.

Traveling to Europe has become much more convenient for GCC and Indian visitors. The European Commission has approved new regulations for the issuance of Schengen visas to citizens of Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, and Oman who live in their home countries.

Under the new visa rule system, Saudi, Bahraini, and Omanis will now have access to multiple-entry visas, allowing them to travel to 25 out of the 27 EU countries using the same visa within five years.

The new visa rule implementation has greatly simplified the process of obtaining a Schengen visa, making it much more convenient for eligible applicants, including first-time applicants. As a result, applicants can now look forward to receiving a multiple-entry visa that remains valid for up to five years, thus relieving them of the stress of frequent visa applications.

“The European Commission has adopted new rules for the issuance of Schengen visas for Saudi, Bahraini, and Omani nationals residing in their home country. It is an important step promoting people-to-people contacts and facilitating exchanges between the EU and GCC citizens,” the delegation of the European Union in GCC posted on X.


New visa rule for travelers from India, Saudi, Oman, Bahrain

Kuwaitis can be issued with long-term, multi-entry Schengen visas valid for five years. UAE nationals enjoy visa-free travel to the Schengen nations, permitting stays of up to three months at a time. However, a Schengen visa is a must for UAE residents.

Additionally, the European Commission adopted specific rules on issuing multiple entry visas to Indians. Under the new regulations, Indian travelers are now eligible to obtain a two-year Schengen visa, a significant enhancement compared to the shorter validity periods previously offered.

To qualify for this extended visa, applicants must have obtained and used two Schengen visas within the last three years by the regulations. Upon successfully utilizing the two-year visa, travelers can typically anticipate eligibility for a five-year Schengen visa, subject to the maintenance of sufficient passport validity.

This new visa rule decision comes in the context of strengthened relations under the EU-India Common Agenda on Migration and Mobility, which seeks comprehensive cooperation on migration policy between the EU and India, with the facilitation of people-to-people contacts being a key aspect due to the importance of India as a partner for the EU.

These changes ease the visa application process and facilitate smoother travel experiences.

A Schengen visa allows the holder to travel freely within the Schengen area for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. It is worth noting that the visa does not grant the right to work, even though it is not tied to a specific purpose. The Schengen area is comprised of 29 European countries, 25 of which are EU states. These countries include Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, and Sweden, along with Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.

Also Read This

UAE-Oman railway project enters the construction phases.